Hope Dies Last by Megan Webb

hopedieslast

Publication Date: June 28th, 2016

This review does not contain spoilers.

This is a fairly short book about our main character Mekana, who doesn’t seem to have a lot going for her at her home in New Mexico. She works at a local pet shop, and she seems to enjoy the company of animals more than people, but she suddenly finds herself along side a friend who takes her on a brief trip to Alaska to attend a funeral for her friends Uncle. While there, they plan to not only go to the funeral, but to also explore Alaska a little bit as well. When Mekana boards a sightseeing plane for a quick tour, she has no idea that it is about to be hijacked and crash landed in the middle of nowhere. Mekana finds herself and a few others fighting for their life as they struggle to survive in the Alaskan bush while awaiting rescue.

As for my thoughts, I really hate to say it, but I was fairly disappointed with this story. First of all, it is only 204 pages. Short books don’t normally bother me if the story works well with the short length allowed for it; however, I didn’t really think that this particular story worked well. There was so much happening in so little time, that you never really get a good chance to get to know any of the characters except for Mekana. In order for me to fully immerse myself in a story, I need depth, and unfortunately there was no depth. I found myself confused several times on who was who at the crash site, and I never really understood what the characters were trying to accomplish or who they were running from when they ‘hijacked’ the plane. This story just seemed to be all over the place, and I found it very unbelievable. The synopsis for this book seems so much more interesting than what  I actually got out of it.

I also had no idea that this was in the Christian fiction genre when I read the synopsis, and I would have never guessed it was until the last third of the book when the author suddenly starts to mention God every other sentence. I have no problems with Christian fiction at all, but I wasn’t expecting it. I thought this was going to be an awesome adventure story which takes place in Alaska, and I thought it would be a lot more realistic and atmospheric. I lived in Alaska for two years, and I was hoping to get to ‘experience’ Alaska again through writing, which is what a good book is supposed to do, unfortunately it fell flat for me. Overall I rated this book 2 out of 5 stars.

I received this book from the author in exchange for an honest review.

-Carissa

2 thoughts on “Hope Dies Last by Megan Webb”

    1. Hi! Thank you for providing me the opportunity to read your book! Please don’t take offense to anything I might have said throughout my review, I may not have been the target audience for it; however, it was very sweet. Thanks again!
      -Carissa

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

