Since We Fell by Dennis Lehane

sincewefell

Publication Date: May 9th, 2017

This review does not contain spoilers.

First off, I want to say that this book is extremely hard for me to talk about without giving any spoilers. A basic synopsis of this would be that our main character is Rachel, a former journalist, has went through something tragic while away for work that has caused her to become a shut in. Rachel never leaves the house, and has panic attacks every time she tries to leave, and she never used to be this way. Throughout some sections of the book, Rachel reflects on her life before she became a journalist, and after, and how she fell in love with her current husband Brian. Rachel ends up being dragged into a violent conspiracy that is filled with so many deceptive lies, that you are unsure of who or what to believe anymore. Taken from the synopsis from Goodreads, “Since We Fell is a novel of profound psychological insight and tension. It is Dennis Lehane at his best.”

As for my thoughts, I was extremely disappointed. I felt like I just wasted my time reading 419 pages of this book for no reason. When I first started this, it seemed promising, and I really liked where I thought it was going; however, it seemed like the author was telling two separate stories, one in the beginning, and one during the second half of the book, neither having anything to do with each other. At the beginning, Rachel is on a quest to seek out her father who had left her and her mother when she was a small girl. I seriously thought the story would be more about the family aspect, and about Rachel finding herself amongst the struggles and emptiness she has had to deal with throughout her life; however, as we get further and further along, the author basically drops this aspect and goes in a completely different way, and I felt this new direction had nothing to do with how this story was first introduced. The author seemed to just start throwing the craziest most unbelievable things into the picture for a ‘wow factor’, and drama, but I think it completely ruined the story. The ending was also pretty disappointing because just….ended…..no resolutions, nothing.

I know this author is known for plot twists, for example, we all the the big twist at the end of ‘Shutter Island‘, whether you have seen the movie, or read the book, but I didn’t even see any twists or any thrilling aspects for the fact that I thought there were two completely different stories being told. It left me so confused…I want my time back. I rated this 2 out of 5 stars on Goodreads.

-Carissa

5 thoughts on “Since We Fell by Dennis Lehane”

  1. I haven’t read anything by Lehane, but I guess if I decide to, I might start with one of her other works. I am curious though, why you gave 2 stars instead of 1. I didn’t see a rating breakdown guide, so maybe 1 star is for things that are basically unreadable? Just wondering, since this is a fairly condemning review.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I gave it 2 because I enjoyed the first quarter of the book.. then it went downhill. A 1 for me would be that the whole book was trash lol! Which I rarely ever rate books a 1, because I normally don’t finish those.

      Like

  2. Normally, Lehane is a go-to author for me, the high water mark being Mystic River. I was intrigued by your review – sorry u had to slog thru what sounded like a waste of your time. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

