Starburst, (Women of the Grey Book 1) by Carol James Marshall

starburst

This review does not contain spoilers

First off, I wanted to say thank you to the author who reached out to me for this.

Lisa may look like a normal person, but we soon find out she is not of this world. She is from a world known as ‘the Grey’, and is on a mission to become one of the ‘Mothers’, or ‘Women of the Grey.’ The women are known to be a breed of superior female species, not human, and all look identical to one another. When Lisa is sent to Feline Street, a small miserable neighborhood located in California, she has been given a task to gather four different individuals, knowns as her ‘marks’ to await the endpoint. Lisa has not been told why she is to find these particular people, nor what the endpoint means, but this mission needs to be completed in order for her to be accepted into the Women of the Grey. The endpoint might mean death for her marks, but Lisa does not want to find out what happens to the girls of the Grey who are unable to complete their mission. Craig, Maggie, Iggy, and Rafael are all those identified as Lisa’s marks, and Lisa soon realizes that she needs to build relationships with these people in order to gain their trust to gather them all together for what is to come at the endpoint. She soon finds out that this is no easy task. Lisa does not know how to act like a proper human, except for what she has seen on TV, and her marks show no little to no interest in her from the start.

As for my thoughts, let me just say that I am someone who never reads from this type of genre. I normally reach for realistic type fiction, but I thought I should give something different a try. I also like to try and show support for self published indie authors, because they definitely need more love. I thought this story was very unique, and obviously nothing like I have read before. I liked that this book was written in multiple perspectives, ranging from the main character Lisa, to all of her marks, and even some of the mothers in the Grey. I enjoyed reading from Lisa and Craig’s perspectives the best. I will say that I never quite understood why all of her marks were such depressed and unhappy people, and there were some things that happened in this book that I didn’t find absolutely necessary to be added, but I was able to overlook this in order to find out what happened. I also had so many questions in my head as I read this; however, I had to keep in mind that this is the first book in a series so there are more answers to find out.

I am unable to compare this story to the likes of anything like it, being that I am not the target audience, but I do think if you are into books that have dark, ski-fi, fantasy elements, this could be for you!

All in all, I would give this 3.5 out of 5 stars.

-Carissa

1 thought on “Starburst, (Women of the Grey Book 1) by Carol James Marshall”

Leave a Reply

