A Spool of Blue Thread by Anne Tyler

bluethread

Publication Date: February 10th, 2015

This review does not contain ‘spoilers’.

It has been a few weeks since my last update, but that is because I have been so overwhelmed with school work, that I have not been able to read as much as I would have liked to. I am getting close to finals week, so the stress level that I am experiencing is very high. I also have not stuck to my original March TBR plans, because this book was not something that I had planned to read during the month, but here we are anyways.

I have never read any Anne Tyler before, so I was unsure of what to expect when I got this from Overdrive on my Kindle. I had seen this book being mentioned on Youtube and Goodreads quite a bit last year so I figured I would give it a go. This is a multi-generational story about the Whitshank family and starts off introducing us to Abby and Red Whitshank (Red, who is the son of Junior Whitshank). Now if you go into this story expecting much of a plot, you will be disappointed, as there is not much that goes on throughout this entire novel. This is very much a character study, and tale about all the different family members who come to live in the house that Red’s father built as the generations pass. We learn about Abby and Red’s 4 children, and the struggles that they have dealt with amongst their family, and we also get an in depth background story about Red’s father Junior, and how he met his wife Linnie. I enjoyed the sections about Junior and Linnie, and how they came to build the house that is notoriously known as the Whitshank house the best in the entire book. You really get to know the characters as if they were real people living and dealing with real experiences,  and I almost felt sad when the story ended even though it took me forever to read. I would say this book was a little bit too slow for me. I have no problem reading slow, multi-generational books that are not plot driven; however, once I set this book down, it was so hard for me to want to pick it back up again. The ending also left me with a lot of unanswered questions, and just kind of ended out of nowhere. I guess I just wanted more from the story after I dedicated so much of my time to it. I am still interested in checking out some more of Anne Tyler’s work, because she is definitely a very talented writer.

All in all, I gave this book 3 out of 3 stars on Goodreads.

-Carissa

5 thoughts on “A Spool of Blue Thread by Anne Tyler”

  1. This is the only one of her books I stalled on and haven’t finished. Usually love her stuff. Would suggest Saint Maybe, Accidental Tourist, Breathing Lessons, and Dinner at the Homesick Restaurant.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Love the title of your blog! Makes me think of that cute show on NIck-at-Nite I watched growing up. I tried to read her “Saint Maybe,” but I couldn’t get past the first few chapters, but I’m always willing to give an author another shot.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

