The Interestings by Meg Wolitzer

the-interestings

Published: April 9th, 2013

This review does not contain spoilers.

First off, all I have to say is, wow! That was one of the best books I have read in a long time.  Meg Wolitzer is obviously extremely talented as a writer, and I can’t believe I never got to this sooner. This book has only been sitting on my shelf for the past couple of years! Though it did take me almost the entire month of February to read, I think it is one of those stories that require you to slow down when you read it, unlike other books where you can read straight through as fast as can be. This is very much a character driven book rather than a plot driven book though, so if you are someone who likes an obvious plot including problems, climax, and a solution, this might not be the book for you. It starts off with a group of teenagers in New York who meet at ‘Spirit in the Woods’, a summer camp for aspiring artists. They come together and form a group, calling themselves ‘The Interestings’, and from there, the story takes off following each of the members of the group from when they were teenagers all the way until they are in their mid 50’s. Obviously, a lot of things occur within the story since it covers such an expansive time frame, but there is no particular moment that defines the entire book. The story deals with friendships, love, loss, and everything else that is real in a lifetime. I can see why many people who prefer a plot heavy story would think that this might be a bit dull; however, I truly think a story that really shows the ins and outs of each character, and their life is what truly makes a novel great. When I look back on all the books that I have read in the past, my true favorites would be the ones that are more focused on the characters lives as a whole, and the ones that aren’t, end up being forgotten as I read more and more. I can’t say much else with out giving a lot away, so you will just have to read it and find out for yourself! Enjoy.

I gave this book 5 out of 5 stars on Goodreads.

-Carissa

Leave a Reply

