The House by Simon Lelic

thehouse

Official publish date: August, 17th 2017

This review does not contain spoilers.

I am not sure what I was expecting when I chose this title from Net Galley, but I am glad I did. I was in the mood for something creepy or suspenseful, and the cover is what drew me to this title right away. This book is written from two different perspectives, Jack and Sydney. At the beginning of the book we are brought to a snippet of a scene where it seems like something has happened that has caused the police to be watching their house; however, at this time no explanation is given because the author then brings us back to the beginning of Jack and Sydney’s story. They start off by deciding to house hunt in London and look for what they would like to be their ‘forever home.’ After finding what seems like could be their perfect place, they begin to move in only to find out that strange things are occurring in this house. Did the old owner of the home decide to up and move quickly because there was something eerie going on, is he guilty about something, or is Jack and Sydney’s past coming back to haunt them?

I really did enjoy this book, and it definitely left you guessing the entire time. I enjoyed reading from both Jack and Sydney’s perspectives, and I thought that reading from the perspectives as if it were written in a journal was a unique idea that I haven’t really seen done before. The author is obviously very talented at being able to create such an intricate detailed story with mind bending twists and turns; however, at times I almost felt there were too many plot twists. I started to get confused once I reached the halfway mark in the book, the story ended up going in a completely different direction than what I thought would happen, and then further on it turned about 3 more times. I really do enjoy a good book that messes with your mind, but if it is overdone, it could start to get confusing. I also thought some of the things that happened in this book were a little far fetched and unbelievable at times, but overall I did enjoy it.

I rated this 3 out of 5 stars on Goodreads, but if I could, I would give it a solid 3.5.

-Carissa

2 thoughts on “The House by Simon Lelic”

Leave a Reply

