The Bloom Girls by Emily Maine Cavanagh

bloomgirls

Official publish date: March 14th, 2017

This review does not contain spoilers.

This was my very first net galley review, and I was unsure what to expect when I chose this title. From the synopsis, all I could see was that it was about three sisters whose father had suddenly died, and them coming together during the aftermath to plan a funeral. I was pleasantly surprised to see that this book was about way more than what I initially thought. The author goes into the backstory of each of the daughters as well as the father himself. This book discusses the pain and hurt with the relationships they had or lack thereof with their father and amongst each other. She brings up difficult topics throughout the book and explores the idea of coming together as a family to mourn the death of someone whose past has hurt not only members of his family, but potentially others in the community. The characters in this book are all well developed and important to the story and I appreciated how it all wrapped up in the end.

A few negatives- Though this book was fast paced, interesting, and easy to get through, I noticed several typos within the text on numerous occasions. In the end, I was able to overlook these errors and continue on regardless; I do think the story is worth a read, and I would recommend.

I rated this book 3 out of 5 stars on Goodreads.

-Carissa

Leave a Reply

